They hunted in a pack.

Fine spells from medium-pacers Anjali Sarvani and Amanjot Kaur and spinners Sahana Pawar and Saika Ishaque — they picked up eight wickets together — but took India-A to the final as India-D fell to a seven-wicket defeat.

ALSO READ – India’s 2023 World Cup auditions begin with three-match series against NZ

In that final to be played on Saturday, the two teams will come face to face once again as India-B’s exciting four-wicket win – with just a ball to spare – against India-C wasn’t enough for a berth in the final. In the three-way tie, India-D and India-A had better net run rates.


India-D 92 in 19.4 overs (Ashwani 31) lost to India-A 95 for 3 in 18.1 overs

India-C 140 for 6 in 20 overs (Simran 32, Deepti 3 for 39, Arundhanti 3 for 28) lost to India-B 141 for 6 in 19.5 overs (Devika 41 n.o.)

India-C lost all its matches, but it may have fancied its chances after posting 140 for six, a more-than-decent total. A fine, fighting knock from Devika Vaidya (41 n.o., 27b, 6×4), however, dashed those hopes.

Left-arm seamer Komal Zanzad struck twice in her second over – her first victim was the dangerous Shafali Verma – to derail India-B’s chase at the beginning. But, useful knocks from skipper Deepti Sharma (26, 18b) and Humaira Kazi (20, 20b) kept their side very much in the game.

Then Nishu Choudhary (24, 15b) lent excellent support to Devika. The pair added 36 crucial runs for the sixth wicket. Two runs were required off the last two balls when wicketkeeper Tania Bhatia hit Saranya Gadwal for a couple over the packed in-field on the off-side.

Source link

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Sign Up for Our Newsletters

Get notified of the best deals on our WordPress themes.

You May Also Like

Martin Guptill released from New Zealand central contract

New Zealand Cricket has agreed to release veteran batter Martin Guptill from…

Sarfaraz slams century as Mumbai beats Railways to qualify for Vijay Hazare Trophy knockouts

A brilliant century from Sarfaraz Khan (117, 94, 10×4, 5×6) helped Mumbai…

Bangladesh moves third ODI against India from Dhaka to Chittagong after protest threat

Bangladesh’s cricket board has moved a one-day international against India next month…

Shafali, Yastika make it count in the Senior Women’s T20 Challenger Trophy

Her job done, Shafali Verma stayed back at the Shaheed Veer Narayan…