Australia have won the Sultan Azlan Shah cup 10 times while India have won it 5 times.© Twitter

The Premier hockey tournament of Malaysia Sultan Azlan Shah is making a return after a two-year hiatus due to the Covid-19 pandemic. The tournament is scheduled to start on November 16 and the final will be played on November 25. World No 1 Australia, fifth-ranked Germany, India, New Zealand and Canada have been invited to the tournament.

The Sultan Azlan Shah Cup has been an annual feature in the FIH calendar since 1998, although it initially started life in 1983 as a biennial event. The event is named after legendary hockey fan and former FIH Executive Board Member HRH Sultan Azlan Shah.

The last time the Azlan Shah tournament was held in 2019 it was won by South Korea beating India in the final, which was their 3rd title. The best player of the tournament was awarded to India’s Surender Kumar.

Australia have been the most successful team in the tournament winning it 10 times then comes India with five titles. While Pakistan and South Korea have won three titles each.

Sponsored by Vuukle

Topics mentioned in this article

Source link

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Sign Up for Our Newsletters

Get notified of the best deals on our WordPress themes.

You May Also Like

Belgium, Netherlands To Co-Host 2026 Men’s, Women’s Hockey World Cups

Belgium, Netherlands will co-host the 2026 women’s and men’s hockey World Cups.©…

Harmanpreet Singh Named Captain For India’s FIH Pro League Matches In Bhubaneswar

Harmanpreet Singh was on Tuesday appointed captain of a 22-member Indian men’s…

FIH Pro League – We Can Avoid Getting Cards: Harmanpreet Singh

India skipper Harmanpreet Singh is happy that his team could maintain composure…

Indian Men’s Hockey Team Leaves For Australian Tour

Indian men’s hockey team. The Indian Men’s Hockey Team on Saturday left…